<nav id="b1awg"></nav>
    1. <em id="b1awg"><tr id="b1awg"></tr></em>
    2. Skip to content

      Access to Justice Committee

      About the committee

      The Access to Justice Committee makes recommendations to the Supreme Court about issues such as:

      • increasing resources available for legal services for self-represented litigants in civil cases;

      • improving planning and coordination of legal services delivery; and

      • reducing potential barriers to equal access to justice.


      The ?Assessment of Self-Represented Litigant Services released in 2020 offers recommendations on simplifying processes, developing statewide self-help tools, increasing training, and improving data collection and analysis. 

      Committee roster

      • District Judge Carl William Ossmann, chair, who serves in the 3rd Judicial District, which is Shawnee County

      • Chief Judge Kevin Berens of the 15th Judicial District, composed of Cheyenne, Logan, Rawlins, Sheridan, Sherman, Thomas, and Wallace counties

      • Starla Borg Nelson, a lawyer at Navis & Nelson in Belleville

      • Christy Campbell, Kansas Legal Services, Wichita

      • Chief Judge Joe Dickinson of the 9th Judicial District, composed of Harvey and McPherson counties

      • Senior Judge James Fleetwood, Wichita

      • District Judge Neil Foth, who serves in the 10th Judicial District, which is Johnson County

      • District Magistrate Judge Kenton Gleason, who serves in Hodgeman County of the 24th Judicial District

      • Marcia Hannon, Kansas Supreme Court Law Library, Topeka

      • Kristi Hill, clerk of the district court in the 29th Judicial District, which is Wyandotte County

      • Christie Koehn, chief court services officer of the 6th Judicial District, composed of Miami, Linn, and Bourbon counties

      • Sara Rust-Martin, Kansas Coalition Against Sexual And Domestic Violence, Topeka

      • Meredith Snepp, Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library, Topeka

      • District Magistrate Judge Ronald Sylvester, who serves in Kingman County of the 30th Judicial District

      • Amanda Truan, district court administrator of the 23rd Judicial District, composed of Ellis, Gove, Rooks, and Trego counties

      • Judge Sarah Warner, Kansas Court of Appeals

      • Penny Wells, clerk of the Comanche County District Court in the 16th Judicial District

      • Ruth Wheeler, district court administrator of the 5th Judicial District, composed of Chase and Lyon counties


      Find a District Court

      Back to top